Interview with Funnyman Clark Jones

Clark Jones is a Chicago born comedian. Perhaps, the most successful comedian to ever graduate from Morehouse College. He has worked with the likes of Andy Samberg and his comedy is insightful and intelligent. Clark has big plans in 2017!!ClarkFinalsHI-8-768x1201

 

When did you decide you wanted to be a comedian?

Sometimes you sitting there with the Playstation 2 controller in your hand and you can pause or quit the game you’re playing because you’re losing and you don’t even love the level, and start fresh. Or you can keep working in the shit job and see it through because there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel. I chose the former.

What was it like growing up in Chicago?

Think of your favorite meal. Guaranteed it’s not healthy or good for you, but you love it because it feels you up and makes you feel better. And you do your best work when you’re happy, also it’s tasty AF. That’s Chicago to me. Eventually, either you grow up or the meal don’t fit what you’re trying to do that day, so you step your game up and widen your palette. That’s me moving to New York.

You went to Morehouse what was that experience like?
I had never been to Martha’s Vineyard before Morehouse! The Black experience at an HBCU ain’t monolithic. You getting hustlers, squares, skateboarders, cotillionaires (might not be a word), millionaires, addicts, scholars and everything in between. I went to school with Black people who are certified criminals and Black people who use “vacation” as a verb. Changed my life fam.

You did the Naked show, how much more pressure was it being naked and telling jokes than being fully clothed?
No Pressure at all.

Where do you draw your inspiration from for your stand up routines?
I have rapper’s confidence on stage. Rappers go for the hard sell. They make you feel that pizzain. The funnier I am the more you know I’m channeling that pain, not anger but actual pain. And sometimes I’m just having fun. It’s all fun, I’m for he children.

What has been your best experience doing comedy?

Straight up? I was performing on the second floor of a strip club apartment on the west side where f Chicago in a fuschia v-neck sweater. And people were laughing. It was a contest I came a n second place, but it was like “it don’t matter what you got on, just go up there and kill, nigga.” That’s my prayer.

What has been a regret or something you would have done differently with what you know now?

My story still being told, I gotta answer that in like five years.

Who are some of the people you would like to work with that you haven’t?

Pharrell. Skateboard P is the closest thing to god artistically, for me.

What is your most embarrassing moment doing stand up?

One time I bombed in front of all the Black people in Bloomington, IL. My whole auntie team was there. I drove for three hours all the way home listening to Coldplay, I knew I’d be back. Not to Bloomington, but back on stage.

What is next for Clark Jones?

Before I go on stage, I whisper to myself “if young metro don’t trust you imma shoot you” I did that all of 2016, just knowing whatever came after that would be *fire emoji* in 2016, I’m looking for new inspiration. I guarantee to be the hottest entertainer over the next 12 months. Peace and love. Xoxoxo

Check out more of Clark Jones on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/cnyss

Leave a Reply

